RSA Fellows

Fellows of the Rhetoric Society of America have produced scholarship in rhetorical studies that is remarkable for its quality and quantity, have participated in the work of the RSA, whether on the Board, on its committees, or in other capacities, and have worked to increase the visibility and influence of rhetorical studies through public lectures, teaching, advocacy, or other activities.

Each biennium, in the even (Conference) year, the Rhetoric Society of America names new Fellows of the Rhetoric Society of America. Designation as a Fellow indicates sustained and superlative contributions to the field of rhetorical studies, the study of rhetoric, and the Society. Additionally, winners of the George E. Yoos Award meet the criteria for Rhetoric Society Fellows and have made sustained contributions to the RSA which have improved the organization; therefore the Yoos Award also automatically confers the status of Fellow.

  • Frederick J. Antczak

    Class of 2004

    Dean for College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

    Grand Valley State University

  • Patricia Bizzell

    Class of 2018

    Professor of English

    College of The Holy Cross

  • David Blakesley

    Yoos Award 2016

    Professor of English and Campbell Chair in Technical Communication

    Clemson University

  • Leah Ceccarelli

    Class of 2022


    University of Washington

  • Ralph Cintron

    Class of 2020

    Associate Professor

    University of Illinois – Chicago

  • Gregory D. Clark

    Yoos Award 2018

    Professor of English

    Brigham Young University

  • Sharon Crowley

    Class of 2008

    Department of English

    Arizona State University

  • Richard Leo Enos

    Yoos Award 2006

    Professor of English

    Texas Christian University

  • Jeanne Fahnestock

    Class of 2012

    Professor Emerita – English

    University of Maryland

  • Cheryl Geisler

    Class of 2022

    Professor, School of Interactive Arts & Technology

    Simon Fraser University

  • Cheryl Glenn

    Class of 2024

    Distinguished Professor of English and Women’s Studies, Emerita

    Pennsylvania State University

  • S. Michael Halloran

    Yoos Award 2002

    Professor Emeritus Language, Literature and Communication

    Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

  • Gerard A. Hauser

    Yoos Award 2004

    Professor of Communication

    University of Colorado – Boulder

  • Debra Hawhee

    Class of 2020

    McCourtney Professor

    Pennsylvania State University

  • Winifred Horner (1922 – 2014)

    Class of 2012

    Professor Emerita and Radford Chair Emerita

    Texas Christian University

  • David S. Kaufer

    Class of 2014

    Mellon Distinguished Professor of English

    Carnegie Mellon University

  • George Kennedy (1928 – 2022)

    Class of 2006

    Professor Emeritus – Classics

    University of North Carolina

  • Janice M. Lauer (1932 – 2021)

    Yoos Award 2008

    Purdue University

  • Michael C. Leff (1941 – 2010)

    Yoos Award 2010

    Professor of Communication

    University of Memphis

  • Shirley Wilson Logan

    Yoos Award 2020

    Professor Emerita of English

    University of Maryland

  • Andrea Lunsford

    Class of 2020

    Louise Hewlett Nixon Professor of English and Bass Fellow

    Stanford University

  • Carolyn R. Miller

    Class of 2010

    Professor Emerita – English

    North Carolina State University

  • James Jerome Murphy (1923 – 2021)

    Class of 2010

    Professor Emeritus – English

    University of California – Davis

  • Lester C. Olson

    Class of 2016

    Professor of Communication and Chancellor’s Distinguished Teacher

    University of Pittsburgh

  • Kendall R. Phillips

    Yoos Award 2024

    Professor, Department of Communication and Rhetorical Studies

    Syracuse University

  • Krista Ratcliffe

    Class of 2018

    Professor and Head

    Arizona State University

  • Jacqueline Jones Royster

    Class of 2014

    Dean Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts and Ivan Allen Jr. Chair in Liberal Arts and Technology

    Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Edward Schiappa

    Class of 2006

    Professor of Comparative Media Studies/Writing

    Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • Jack Selzer

    Yoos Award 2012

    Paterno Family Liberal Arts Professor

    Penn State University

  • C. Jan Swearingen (1948 – 2017)

    Class of 2004

    Professor of English

    Texas A&M University

  • Victor J. Vitanza

    Class of 2016

    Professor of English

    Clemson University

  • Jeffrey Walker

    Class of 2006 and Yoos Award 2014

    Professor of English

    University of Texas – Austin

  • Arthur Walzer

    Yoos Award 2000

    Professor Emeritus – Communication Studies

    University of Minnesota

  • Barbara Warnick (1946 – 2020)

    Class of 2010

    Professor Emerita – Communication

    University of Pittsburgh

  • Kathleen E. Welch

    Class of 2006

    Presidential Professor of English

    University of Oklahoma

  • Kirt H. Wilson

    Yoos Award 2022

    Associate Professor and Department Head of Communication Arts and Sciences

    Pennsylvania State University

  • George Edward Yoos (1923 – 2021)

    Class of 2010

    Professor Emeritus – Philosophy

    St. Cloud State University

  • David Zarefsky

    Yoos Award 2010

    Professor of Communication

    Northwestern University


Joining RSA puts you into direct contact — via this website, RSA conferences and institutes, and other RSA members-only resources — with a large and growing interdisciplinary group of scholars who share your interest in rhetoric. Members receive access to Rhetoric Society Quarterly, special rates on events, and are eligible to be nominated for RSA awards.