All Awards

Lunsford Travel Grant

RSA makes travel grant awards to graduate students of color who participate in the conference. These awards are made possible through the generosity of the Andrea Lunsford Diversity Fund. This endowed fund honors Andrea Lunsford’s longtime commitments to promoting diversity within RSA and the education and professional development of graduate students in rhetoric.

For the 2024 Conference, all graduate student members will be notified by email when the Lunsford Travel Grant application period opens. The February 29, 2024 deadline for applications has passed.


Please contact the society’s Awards Committee with any outstanding questions about the nomination, submission, or selection processes.

Award Recipients


2022 Travel Grant Award

Louisiana State University

Nicole Cunningham-Frisbey

2022 Travel Grant Award

University of New Hampshire

Sheila K. Dodson

2022 Travel Grant Award

Clemson University

Sarah Hae-in Idzik

2022 Travel Grant Award

Northwestern University

Montez Jennings

2022 Travel Grant Award

Chapman University

Eva Jin

2022 Travel Grant Award

Arizona State University

Edwin Lee

2022 Travel Grant Award

University of Alabama

Veena Namboordi

2022 Travel Grant Award

Michigan Technological University

Vanessa Nyarko    

2022 Travel Grant Award

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities