Complete Story

Rhetoric Society of America - Award Winners to be Honored at Conference Luncheon

Hello everyone, 

As the 2012 RSA Conference draws near, I hope you'll join me in congratulating the award winners listed below who will be honored during the conference's Sunday luncheon. 

See you in Philadelphia!


Fellows of the Rhetoric Society of America:

  • Jeanne Fahnestock, University of Maryland
  • Winifred Bryan Horner, Texas Christian University (Professor Emerita and Radford Chair Emerita) 

The George E. Yoos Distinguished Service Award:

  • Jack Selzer, Penn State University 

Book Awards:

  • Jeanne Fahnestock, University of Maryland, Rhetorical Style: The Uses of Language in Persuasion,(Oxford UP, 2011)
  • Wendy Hesford, The Ohio State University, Spectacular Rhetorics: Human Rights Visions, Recognitions, Feminisms (Duke UP, 2011). 

Kneupper Award

  • Kelly Myers, Stanford University, "Metanoia and the Transformation of Opportunity" in RSQ 41 (1): 1-18 (Winter 2011) 

Dissertation Award

  • Henrietta Rix Wood, University of Missouri- Kansas City, "Praising Girls: The Epideictic Rhetoric of Young Women, 1895-1930." Advisor Jane Greer.  

The Gerard A. Hauser Awards

  • Michaela Frischherz, The University of Iowa, "Not Gay Enough: Performing Identifications in U.S. Asylum Law"
  • Brook Irving, University of Iowa, "Visualizing Blight: The Ruins of Detroit and the Instability of the Apocalypse"
  • Michael Rancourt, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, "The Ego Function of Oppositional Rhetoric Online" 

Kris Ratcliffe
Professor and Chair
President, Rhetoric Society of America
Department of English
Marquette University
Milwaukee, WI 53201

Printer-Friendly Version