Complete Story

Rhetoric Society Quarterly Kneupper Award

2012 Kneupper Award  

Rhetoric Society Quarterly is pleased to announce that the Kneupper Award for the best article in the 2011 volume of the journal is awarded to 

Kelly A. Myers, "Metanoia and the Transformation of Opportunity," 41 (1): 1–18. 

Three members of the 2008–11 Editorial Board selected by previous editor Carolyn Miller served as the award committee: MariLee Mifsud, James Kastely, and C. Jan Swearingen (chair). The award will be conferred at the 2012 RSA conference in Philadelphia.  

The committee commended Myers’s work as "an erudite and eloquent essay that beautifully engages historical methods in exploring the partnership of metanoia and kairos in rhetorical theory and practice. The range of texts and facility of considerations present meticulous research coupled with a creative synthesis of historical and pedagogical ideas of change, persuasion, belief, and transformation. Approaching kairos and its partnerships with metanoia not as single moments but as parts of larger historical and epistemological processes, Myers opens up future work on metanoia that will expand our notions of rhetoric, persuasion, and belief." 

The award for best article is given each year in memory of Charles Kneupper, 1949–1989, who initiated and organized the earliest biennial RSA conferences at the University of Texas at Arlington, where he taught. Charles was an active member of RSA and mentor to many graduate students in rhetoric.

Printer-Friendly Version