Complete Story

Rhetoric Society of America: Call for Nominations for RSA Board of Directors

Rhetoric Society of America: Call for Nominations for RSA Board of Directors

RSA is seeking nominations to bring new leaders to serve on the Society’s Board of Directors. The Nominating Committee, composed of Diane Davis, Christa Olson, Michele Kennerly, Andre Johnson, Anjali Vats, and Gregory Clark will be proposing candidates for five vacant seats on the Board of Directors. In March 2020, all members of RSA will be invited to vote on those candidates.

The Nominating Committee invites you to suggest RSA members whom you think would make a strong contribution to the Society by serving on the Board, which is the policy-making body of RSA. To qualify for the ballot, nominees must be current members of RSA and must have a history of participation in RSA events. Nominations should be submitted with the nominee’s knowledge and agreement to serve if elected. Self-nominations are welcome.

The Board of Directors includes ten individuals at different stages of their careers and drawn from different academic disciplines, with two of those seats reserved for students with at least two years of study remaining before receiving the terminal degree. Five Directors, including one student representing the field of communication studies will be elected this cycle. All Board members serve a four-year term.

Members of the RSA Board of Directors are expected to attend meetings twice each year: at the RSA Biennial Conference and RSA Summer Institute held in alternate years, and at a three-day Board Retreat that generally meets in October. Board members fund their own travel to the Conference or Institute, and to the October Retreat.  At the Retreat all other expenses are covered by RSA.  The Board’s work continues between meetings in the form of committee assignments, online deliberations, and votes.

If you would like to propose someone, including yourself, please e-mail the Nominating CommitteeChair, Greg Clark -- -- with the name of the person you propose, and a paragraph summarizing this person’s background and the strengths for candidacy.

This information is due to the committee by Feb 1, 2020

Gregory Clark
Immediate Past President
RSA Nominating Committee Chair


Printer-Friendly Version